The 5 Stages of Maturity

Human maturity, defined as achieving God-given potential at one’s life stage, is divided into 5 Stages (infant, child, adult, parent, and elder), a universally accepted concept supported by cross-cultural, biblical, and brain science research. While physical maturity is common, many remain incomplete in social and emotional growth. Recognizing these gaps allows us to partner with God and others for filling them. The Life Model offers insights into what each stage demands from family and community, fostering personal development. As beloved children of God, our unchanging worth remains intact, but growing in maturity enhances relationships, leadership, and overall satisfaction, enabling us to embrace life to the fullest. Explore each maturity stage, its needs, tasks, and principles, and engage in self-assessment and growth with this illuminating class.

If you are a Learning Library Premium member with access to this resource, click here to sign in.

Become a Premium Learning Library subscriber and get access to the entire Learning Library instantly. It’s only $11.99/month or get 2 months free at $119/year.

Human maturity can be thought of as “achieving my God-given potential at my age and stage of life”. The 5 Stages of Maturity (infant, child, adult, parent, and elder) have been confirmed cross-culturally, biblically, and even scientifically through modern brain science.

While most people reach physical maturity without difficulty, it seems that many do not reach their full potential of social and emotional maturity. Rather, like a brick of swiss cheese, almost all of us have some “holes” in our maturity (some of which go all the way down!).

The good news is that when we understand the 5 Stages of Maturity, we can partner with God and others to see these “holes” in our maturity filled. Insights from The Life Model reveal what a person needs to receive from their family and community, as well as the developmental tasks they must complete, in each stage of maturity.

While my value is unchanging and complete as a beloved child of God, my maturity can grow and increase over time. Raising maturity levels increases the health and satisfaction of marriages, parenting, leadership and other relationships. Blocked or stunted maturity limits our ability to receive and give life and to live fully from the heart Jesus gave us.

This class walks through each of the 5 Stages of Maturity, including the needs, tasks, and key principles associated with each stage. In addition to learning the material, you will be given opportunity for interacting with Immanuel, as we examine this road map to maturity and assess where we are, what we missed, where we’re headed, and how God is calling us to get there.

Related Resources

The book this course is tied to is Living from the Heart Jesus Gave You


Session 1 – Introduction to the 5 Stages of Maturity

Session 2 – The Infant Stage: Learning to Receive

Session 3 – The Child Stage: Taking Care of One

Session 4 – The Adult Stage: Caring for You and Me

Session 5 – The Parent Stage: Caring for Three or More

Session 6 – The Elder Stage: Caring for the Community


Director of Operations - Deeper Walk International

Nik has an Masters in Intercultural Studies from Fuller Theological Seminary and helped plant a church and new college ministry in Seattle, where he served in pastoral ministry for 16 years. Nik currently resides in Northern California with his wife, Kristy, and four children. Nik’s passion is helping people grow in emotional, relational, and spiritual health.

Add address

United States (US)

Scroll to Top
Open Lock icon
Sign in to your account